Living In The Moment 

It seems to be this way every year, I’ll explain; one morning I wake up and it’s suddenly spring. 
Trees are blooming, flowers are poking their sleepy heads out of the ground, and birds are chirping excitedly at all hours of the day. It’s impressive, the way nature just bursts into bloom so brilliantly every year, surprising me every time. 
No matter how many times I experience it, spring is always a welcome relief to the cold depths of winter. Everything seems once again alive, moving, relieved as I am for the sunshine and the cleansing of the April rain. 


There is a saying, “Stop and Smell the Roses.” It doesn’t mean to simply smell flowers – though that’s what I like to do when it’s Spring, it means to live in the moment with a great appreciation for the present and the things around you. So let me ask you…Do you ever stop to smell the roses?


It’s very easy to get completely caught up in planning for the future, that we often forget to take the time to appreciate the wonderful things happening daily in our lives.

So here are five ways to “Stop and Smell the Roses” this spring…
1. Go outside as often as possible

This can be a tough one for me, as I love being at home, doing bits and bobs around the flat, blogging on the iPad, catching up with certain programs I like. However, not being outside isn’t really being present in the spring moment, and I’m going to make a big effort this spring — starting today! — to spend as much time outdoors as I can. 


2. Pay attention to the little things. 

When I’m outdoors, I’m going to make an extra special effort to pay attention to the little things. I’m already pretty good at this – noticing the new buds on plants, spotting an unusual flower or insect – but this year I’m going to pay attention even more to the small things around me. I’m a big fan of using my visual sense, but I’m going to start paying attention with all five senses to really get in touch with the season of spring. 


3. Stop rushing and slow down. 

One of the reasons I struggle to enjoy the season is because I’m often in a rush. I have work, plans, things to cross off of my to-do list. Even on the weekends, I’m often “busy” with something I feel I must get done. If I really want to enjoy this spring, I realise that I must slow down and stop rushing. I need to go on long walks with my other half or on my own. I need to take the time to walk home from work. I need to stop rushing and start slowing down. 


4. Bring the spring indoors. 

I cannot tell you how many times my mum used to say to my brother and I, “Open your windows, time to get a blowout!” I used to shake my head and tell her defiantly that I don’t want fresh air because it was too cold. But why? Fresh air is probably the very thing I needed and in Spring and Summer there are so few days (when it’s not way too cold) that I can actually open the windows and let the air in. This spring I’m going to continue opening windows, to start letting the sounds and smells and sights of spring indoors. 

 

5.  Take time to reflect.

Whether it’s in the bath, in the park walking the dog, in your garden or sitting in a coffee shop, why not take time to reflect on the good, the bad and the ugly. I have always been someone who enjoys thinking (sometimes a little too much), but when we take the time to step back and reflect, we can see the bigger picture of life more clearly. None of us lead perfect lives and sometimes we make mistakes along the way. That’s okay, it happens. Instead of letting these mistakes get you down or hinder you from reaching your potential, reflect on them. 

Figure out where you went wrong and think of ways you can fix that and avoid those mistakes from happening again – think of it like a Spring Clean. Our mistakes and failures can be huge learning tools, we just have to take the time to reflect on them.


What are some reasons why reflection is important to you? Is it a daily habit you’ve taken up or does it come and go here and there? 

Tell me about a time reflection has specifically helped you in one way or another. Let’s Stop and Smell the Roses together!

Leave a Reply

