It’s The Little Things In Life…

It’s easy to feel overwhelmed with life sometimes and become completely preoccupied by things beyond your control or influence. 

Trust me I’m there right now.

And when this happens to me, I tend to want to hide under my duvet and wait till the dust settles; as if the magical cocoon can shield me from all hurt, pain, stress (it is where I am now). 

And then something happens, something comforting, annoying or funny will happen or will come to mind and my attention will be temporarily diverted. And sometimes that’ll be enough for me to realise what is happening and snap out of it or at least make me realise that I am in control and even though this moment is bad or doesn’t mean the whole day has to be.

I have realised since I’ve been fighting with depression, that in fact it’s the small things in life that can bring me joy – whether it’s memories I’ve shared with friends, a video of baby elephants sitting on humans or one of my cats puring next to me. It is these things that lift my spirit when I am certain they are grounded for the foreseeable future. 

So my advice is, live each day to the fullest. Search for joy in everything you do. And don’t forget to smile even when it seems impossible because you’re not alone and you are in control.

Let’s keep fighting.

The Girl Who Writes.

Leave a Reply

