How to Move Forward

Moving-Forward-Quote

When You Feel Like Your Life is Over

We all have things that we care passionately about, sometimes to an unreasonable and unhealthy extent. While our individual situations and circumstances are vastly different, feelings are what connect us and are universal. The feeling of devastating loss is the same.

When those things that you care about most dearly are taken from you for reasons beyond your control, you don’t need to go to the extreme like I did.

Through discussions with various people, extensive research, and my personal experience, I’ve discovered proven tips and insights you can apply to get through your dark night of the soul, that moment when you feel like your life is over.

Take it one breath at a time—literally.

Put down the million and one things from your past that you are upset about and the billion and one things in your future that you are anxious about and simplify life down to one moment, this moment.

At my lowest points I have used individual breaths to take me out of my downward spiral.

Keep it in perspective.

The tendency of the human mind is to zoom in on situations and lose perspective, especially when your heart and soul are involved in the outcome. We live in a huge world a huge range of possiblities and even though it doesn’t seem like it at the moment, your best days are ahead of you and your life is not ruined.

Instead of trying to think positively, shift back to neutral.

When you are that low point—at rock bottom, with no hope like I have been—the last thing you want is to be overly positive. But instead of fighting your thoughts, choose to be the observer of your thoughts.

Recognise what is happened is not a reflection of your worth.

Your self-worth is infinite, and it is not dependent upon external circumstances such as making or not making a team or getting a job, nor does it depend on what others think of you.

Know that you are loved.

I know it may not feel like it, and I absolutely understand the feeling of embarrassment that you’ll never be able to talk about what you are going through, but even when you feel most isolated, I promise there are people who still love you dearly.

Remember that there is a hidden opportunity in every setback.

When one door closes, another one opens. You can use setbacks to your advantage and a crisis is an opportunity for a breakthrough.

Realise this situation serves a purpose.

This unexpected and unfair situation you are going through (or have already been through) is the very situation life wants you to experience to get you to your next level.

The truth is you can handle any challenge life hands you.

The feeling of rock bottom will go away when you realise just how connected and important you are. You have a purpose and you will help others by sharing your experience and support with others.

Why Did No One Tell Me?

I’ll never understand, for as long as I live, why not one person told me that my self-worth doesn’t depend on being on my circumstance.

But I can control, in this present moment, the experiences and lessons I share with the world. And I’m here to tell you that there is always a solution and a way out, even when you think all possible options and solutions have been exhausted. And trust me its something I have to remind myself at times but its true…

No matter how badly you feel right now, you will get through your predicament and end up using it to your advantage. You will find the silver lining and do incredible things with your life.

See you at the mountaintop.

 

Leave a Reply

