Poem: Finish The Race

God, you’ve seen the pain that’s been in my heart

You can see the struggles that have been tearing me apart

Even though the clouds are dark and thick, I’m seeking You

I have faith you will see me through

Feeling like the scars on my heart have been torn

My hope has been jaded, tattered and worn

Lately things have been unstable and are constantly changing

The storm has been relentless and the seas are raging

Nothing is certain anymore

Why can’t things be how they were before?

When people cared and the world seemed bright

When a broken heart and painful tears didn’t keep me up at night

When I didn’t question if my friends would love me or leave my side

Whether or not they would accept me this time or cast me aside

Through every season there’s always been struggles to face

But I know God will help me finish the race

I may have broken dreams, rough storms and dark nights

But in the end God will make it all right

Nothing is forgotten or insignificant in His eyes

He knows what breaks our heart and sees the pain the inside

He encourages the broken and guides those who place their lives in His hands

And He blesses those who do what’s right and take a stand

Rest assured God is using your life for more than you could ever know

So continue trusting in Him and don’t give up running this race until you reach your eternal home

 

Leave a Reply

