Don’t Give Up!

on

“Doing your best means never stop trying.”

  

I like to plan; for the evenings, for the weekend, for when I am not at work. I like to make a plan and be as productive as I can with my spare time. I enjoyed making a long list of goals each week with a meticulously planned schedule for every hour of the week outside of work hours. I had recently started a new job, and one particular week I had bigeyes and high hopes about what I would accomplish. I thought I would definitely finish two of the books I had been reading for a while too.

And then I got ill and none of it materialised as I sank into a pit of pain, exhaustion, headaches and chronic fatigue. I could not believe all my plans were falling apart.

In my “normal” state I am a productive person who extracts a great deal of personal self-worth based on the progress of my to-do list and being able to go to work. Once I was unwell I was not able to continue at the same speed, though I tried to resist.

I could not believe the injustice of it all; especially with this happening at the beginning of my new job during some essential training. I felt like complete loser, and it was a difficult, never-ending process of trying to forgive myself and let myself get better.

In life, we inevitably encounter obstacles that are discouraging and make our goals feel unattainable It does not have to be Chronic Tonsillitis and a Viral Infection, it could be a new job, a relationship, unexpected stress, an overextended schedule – anything that diverts our attention away from a goal.

Often obstacles in our path can be temporary momentary glitches. Other times they are more complex and intimidating and they can threaten to delay us indefinitely. But like when riding a bicycle we have to keep our balance and keep moving forward; we do this by ‘changing the plan and not the goal’. By objectively assess the so called roadblocks and step away from our emotions in order to identify a new route and keep moving forward. We must always move forward, even if it’s at snail pace.

It’s a lot easier said than done but the first step is to embrace the idea that it’s okay to have a change in our path as long as the destination is the same. We can all start off with the best-intentioned plans, but inevitably life gets in the way. When that happens we have to be able to go back to the drawing board and think of new ideas to keep moving forward. Whether it’s the New Year’s resolutions that you have forgotten about, wanting to change your lifestyle for the better, give up that bad habit or something you have wanted to achieve for a long time; it isn’t too late to get back on track.

Many people mistakenly think the path to achieving our goals is supposed to be direct and easy, and consequently when they encounter the inevitable detour or roadblocks they don’t know what to do, and their disappointment undermines their momentum and they give up all together. It has happened to me before as well.

But in reality, achieving our goals has more to do with our determination precisely in those moments when the universe gives us every sign that we should give up. Those are the times when we have to pick ourselves up and force ourselves to keep moving forward.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

