The Past

Don’t look back. You’re not going that way.

It’s easier said than done sometimes, isn’t it? 

I have a tendency to spend a lot of time reflecting on what has happened in the past and beat myself up over it; especially when it comes to mistakes that I have made. 

It could be something that happened 4 minutes ago, 4 months ago or 4 years ago. But the when the analysis starts its all I can think about and I pick apart my past actions until I feel terrible about myself. 

Contrastingly, when it comes to forgiving someone who has hurt me, I am quicker at doing this and the mistake is soon forgotten. 

But just as it took some time to forgive others when I was small, I have learnt that self-forgiveness is not something I am going to learn overnight – it’s a gradual process.

When I catch myself looking back now and self-loathing I take a deep breath and  exhale all the negativity I was feeling, I then remind myself that no matter how much I dwell on and analyse the past, I cannot change it. 

All we can do is accept the past for what it is, so that we can learn from it and do a better job going forward.

  

Leave a Reply

